Who and what is the Conservation Advisory Board

Have you ever heard of CAB?

I, like most people who enjoy the great outdoors have not. After becoming involved with BHA started to hear about CAB meetings. It wasn’t until our newly appointed political liaison Nathan Worthington made the first meeting that I fully understood the importance of the board. His report from the meeting is in included as well as some information about the Conservation Advisory Board and DCNR.

CAB Report March 21, 2022

Department of Conservation and Natural Resources

The Department of Conservation and Natural Resources is an executive and administrative department of the State of Alabama created by statute. The Commissioner, appointed by the Governor as a member of the Cabinet, advises the Governor and Legislature on the management of freshwater fish, wildlife, marine resources, state lands, state parks, and other natural resources.

The Department has four divisions: Marine Resources, State Lands, State Parks, and Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries.

The Conservation Advisory Board, created by statute, is composed of 10 members appointed by the Governor for alternating terms of six years, and three ex-officio members in the persons of the Governor, the Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries, and the Director of the Alabama Cooperative Extension System. The Commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources serves as the ex-officio secretary of the board.

The Advisory Board assists in formulating policies for the Department of Conservation examines all rules and regulations and makes recommendations for their change or amendment. By a two-thirds vote of the members present and with the governor’s approval, the Board can amend, make any changes, repeal or create and promulgate additional rules and regulations. The Board also assists in publicizing the department’s programs and activities.


Meetings usually take place in February, March, or May. Constituents should contact their board representative with any comments or concerns.

Board Members (updated April 2021)

Members Contact Address Term Expires Congressional District
Joseph Dobbs, Jr., Chairman PO Box 430183
Birmingham, AL  35243
March 28, 2027 6
Greg Barksdale PO Box 1069

Cullman, AL  35055

September 30, 2023 4
Brock Jones 100 Towncenter Blvd.

Suite 202
Tuscaloosa, AL 35406

March 28, 2027 6
Kevin Savoy PO Box 610
Abbeville, AL  36310
March 28, 2027 2
Tim Wood PO Box 1090
Selma, AL  36702
September 30, 2023 7
Grady Hartzog PO Box 787
Eufaula, AL  36072
March 28, 2027 2
Raymond Jones, Jr. PO Box 2545
Huntsville, AL  35804
May 9, 2025 5
Jeff Martin 2632 Martin Street South
Pell City, AL  35125
May 9, 2025 3
Ben C. Stimpson, Jr. PO Box 1663
Mobile, AL  36633
September 30, 2023 1
Gary Wolfe 19698 S. Greeno Road
Fairhope, AL 36532
March 28, 2027 1

Ex-officio Members

  • Kay Ivey, Governor
  • Dr. J. Mike Phillips, Director, Alabama Cooperative Extension System
  • Rick Pate, Commissioner, Department of Agriculture and Industries

Ex-officio Secretary of the Board

  • Christopher M. Blankenship, Commissioner, Department of Conservation and Natural Resources


Christopher M. Blankenship, Commissioner
(334) 242-3486

Edward F. Poolos, Deputy Commissioner
(334) 242-3486

Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
64 N. Union Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36130